كيف تقدر مشروع الويب التالي

إيداع الصور 10055344 ثانية

متى سيتم القيام به؟

هذا هو السؤال الذي يطاردني عند نقلا عن مشروع. قد تعتقد بعد القيام بذلك لسنوات أنني سأتمكن من اقتباس مشروع مثل الجزء الخلفي من يدي. إنها ليست طريقة عملها. كل مشروع جديد وسيكون له تحدياته الخاصة. لدي مشروع واحد تأخر 30 يومًا بسبب تغيير طفيف تم إجراؤه بواسطة API التي لم نتمكن من حلها. العميل منزعج مني - وبحق - أخبرتهم أن الأمر سيستغرق بضع ساعات فقط. لم يكن الأمر أنني كذبت ، لأنني لم أتخيل أبدًا أنه سيتم إهمال ميزة من API التي كنا نعتمد عليها. لم يكن لدي الموارد لإكمال العمل على حل المشكلة (لكننا نقترب من ذلك!).

أنا أرفض الذهاب في الاتجاه الآخر وشحن ساعات بدلاً من تقديرات المشروع ، رغم ذلك. أعتقد أن الدفع مقابل ساعات العمل يشجع المقاولين على تجاوز الوقت وزيادة الميزانية. كل مشروع أقوم بدفعه لشخص آخر مقابل ساعات لا يعمل. لقد تأخروا جميعًا وأصابني العمل بالذهول. على العكس من ذلك ، فإن المشاريع التي دفعت رسومًا مقابلها جاءت في الوقت المحدد وتجاوزت التوقعات أحب أيضًا تجاوز توقعات عملائي.

أربعة أخطاء ستفجر التقدير التالي:

  1. الخطأ الأول: احسب المدة التي ستستغرقها ما يطلبه العميل. خطأ. لقد ارتكبت خطأك الأول وقدرت ما طلبه العميل ، وليس ما يطلبه أراد العميل بالفعل. يكون الاثنان مختلفين دائمًا وسيريد العميل دائمًا ضعف ذلك مقابل نصف السعر.
  2. الخطأ الثاني: لم تأخذ تأخيرات العميل بعين الاعتبار. أضف تأخيرًا لمدة أسبوعين على المشروع لأن قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات لديهم لن يمنحك حق الوصول الذي تحتاجه. أحاول دائمًا إخبار العملاء ، إذا حصلت على "A" لي في تاريخ محدد ، فيمكنني التسليم. إذا لم تفعل ، لا أستطيع الالتزام بأي تاريخ. لا يتغير مخطط جانت بطريقة سحرية ، لدي عملاء ووظائف أخرى مجدولة بالفعل.
  3. الخطأ الثالث: لقد سمحت للعميل بالضغط عليك لتسليم سابق. لم تقم بتضمين معالجة الأخطاء والاختبار. أراد العميل خفض التكاليف فقال لك أن تنجزها. إجابة خاطئة! إذا كان العميل لا يدفع مقابل التعامل مع الأخطاء والاختبار ، فكن مطمئنًا إلى أنك ستقضي ساعات طويلة على إصلاحات الأخطاء والصيانة بعد بدء البث المباشر. اشحنها في كلتا الحالتين - ستؤدي العمل الآن أو لاحقًا.
  4. الخطأ الرابع: التوقعات تتغير على طول الطريق ، والجداول الزمنية تتعطل ، والأولويات تتغير ، وتظهر المشاكل التي لم تكن تتوقعها ، والناس يتحولون…. ستكون دائمًا متأخرًا كثيرًا عما كنت تتوقعه. لا توافق على الجدول الزمني المختصر تحت ضغط العميل. إذا كنت قد تمسكت بتوقعاتك الأصلية ، فربما تكون قد صنعتها!

في الآونة الأخيرة ، بدأنا عقدًا مع شركة حيث اتفقنا على دفعة أولى لمشروع ما ثم على سعر شهري مستمر للترقيات والصيانة. جلسنا وناقشنا الأهداف وما هي أولوياتهم - ولم يناقشوا حتى واجهة المستخدم أو التصميم أو أي قطعة أخرى. لقد حددنا موعدًا تقريبيًا لبدء البث المباشر والذي كان عدوانيًا ، لكن بات أدرك تمامًا أن المشروع قد يكون متقدمًا في بعض الميزات أكثر من غيرها. لقد حققنا عملية الإطلاق ونحرز تقدمًا بالفعل في قائمة التحسينات. أكثر أهمية، كلانا سعيد.

أنا لا أفقد الكثير من التقديرات ولكن هذا لا يزال يحدث من حين لآخر. في الواقع ، أنا أستعد لإعادة عقد حديث لأنه بعد العمل في بعض المشاريع مع العميل ، أعلم أنه على الرغم من موافقة العميل على بعض الأهداف الغامضة ، فلن يكون سعيدًا ما لم يحصل على عشرة أضعاف قيمة العقد. أتمنى فقط أن أتمكن من اكتشاف هؤلاء الأشخاص في وقت سابق. هم حاجة لاستئجار مواردهم بالساعة ... الدخول في تقدير قائم على المشروع معهم أمر قاتل.

لقد بدأت في اكتشاف ما هو مشترك مع المشاريع الناجحة التي قدمناها أو نقوم بتنفيذها. لقد تعلمت الكثير منها بالفعل تدريب المبيعات بمساعدة مدربي مات نيتلتون. لقد اكتشفت أيضًا أن معظم نجاحات مشاريعي قد بدأت قبل أن أوقع مع العميل!

كيفية الحصول على تقدير:

  1. معرفة عندما يتوقع العميل ذلك. توقعاتهم هي الأكثر أهمية. قد تجد أن لديك عامًا لإكمال العمل. لماذا تقدير أسبوعين إذا كانوا سعداء بشهرين؟ لا يزال بإمكانك إكمال المهمة في أسبوعين وتجاوز كل التوقعات!
  2. معرفة ما يستحقه العميل. إذا لم تتمكن من معرفة قيمتها ، فاكتشف ما هي الميزانية. هل يمكنك إكمال المشروع وتجاوز التوقعات بناءً على تلك الميزانية؟ إذا إفعلها. إذا لم تستطع ، فاستسلم لها.
  3. اكتشف ماذا الهدف من المشروع. كل شيء خارج الهدف يكون غريبًا ويمكن حله لاحقًا. اعمل على تحديد الهدف وإكمال هذا الهدف. إذا كان الهدف هو إنشاء مدونة وتشغيلها ، فقم بإعدادها وتشغيلها. إذا كان الأمر يتعلق ببناء تكامل يرسل البريد الإلكتروني ، فاحصل عليه لإرسال بريد إلكتروني. إذا كان الهدف هو خفض تكلفة الشراء ، فقم بتخفيض التكلفة. إذا كان الأمر يتعلق بتطوير تقرير ، فقم بإعداد التقرير وتشغيله. يأتي هذا الجميل لاحقًا ويمكن أن يأتي الضبط الدقيق بتكلفة ضخمة مع وجود جدول زمني صارم. اعمل على ما هو أكثر أهمية.
  4. العمل للخلف من مستوى التميز الخاص بك. لا يستخدمني معظم عملائي لأداء مهام وضيعة ، فهم يحصلون على قيمة أموالهم من خلال ضربني في الأشياء الكبيرة ويقومون بملئها لإكمال العمل السهل. أنا أحب هؤلاء العملاء وأهدف إلى تجاوز توقعاتهم وتقديمها لهم قيمة أكبر مما يدفعون ثمنه. بنهاية مشاريعنا ، غالبًا ما نكون أقل من الميزانية أو نتجاوز الأهداف ، ونحن نتقدم في الجداول الزمنية. إنهم يوفرون لي مساحة كافية لأتجاوز توقعاتهم ... الأمر بهذه البساطة.

ما زلت أتعرض لضغوط لخفض أسعاري والانتهاء مبكرًا ، أعتقد أن كل مدير يعتقد أن هذا هو هدفه عند العمل مع المقاولين. إنه لأمر سيء للغاية أنهم قصر النظر. أنا ببساطة أخبر العملاء أن الجداول الزمنية الأقصر والمال الأقل لهما تأثير مباشر على جودة العمل الذي وظفوني من أجله. إن الشيء العظيم في دفع ما يستحقه لمقاول عظيم هو أنه سوف يسلم ... ويمكنك أن تتوقع أنه سوف يقوم بذلك. عندما تستمر في تقويض مقاوليك أو ضربهم حتى الموت ، لا تتفاجأ متى لا شيء منهم من أي وقت مضى. 🙂

أنا أيضا أحصل على المزايدة طوال الوقت. في المرة الأخيرة التي حدث فيها ذلك ، اختارت الشركة حلاً قصير المدى سيتعين عليهم إعادة تطويره مع كل عميل. كانت أسعاري تبلغ حوالي 1.5 ضعف التكلفة ، لكنني كنت سأبنيها حتى يتمكنوا من إعادة استخدام التطبيق مع كل من عملائهم. في الواقع ضحك الرئيس التنفيذي في وجهي عندما أخبرني كم "وفر" مع المقاول الآخر (المقاول الذي اقترحته). أربعة عملاء من الآن ، سيكون قد دفع أكثر من 3 أضعاف تكاليف التنفيذ. غبي.

ابتسمت وانتقلت إلى عميلي التالي الأكثر سعادة ونجاحًا وربحًا.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

    قال حسنا دوغ. ما زلت أكافح مع هذا أيضًا. عندما سئلت عن موعد استكمال موقع الويب ، تعلمت الرد ، "هذا يعتمد على مدى استجابتك لكل ما أطلبه."

  2. 2

    أنا أقدر صراحتك ، دوج. أود أن أضيف أفضل ممارسة أخرى - اجعل العميل على اطلاع وتحلي بالشفافية. كل هذا يفترض مستوى معين من الثقة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Search Marketing, Technology, WordPress

How to Estimate Your Next Web Project

When is it going to be done by?

This is the question that haunts me when quoting a project. You would think after doing this for years that I’d be able to quote out a project like the back of my hand. It’s not how it works. Every project is new and will have it’s own challenges. I have one project that’s 30 days late simply because of a minor change made by an API that we’ve been unable to work around. The client is upset at me – rightly so – I told them it would only take a few hours. It wasn’t that I lied, it’s that I had never guessed that a feature would be deprecated from the API that we were relying on. I haven’t had the resources to complete working around the issue (we’re getting close, though!).

I refuse to go the other direction and charge hours instead of project estimates, though. I think paying for hours encourages contractors to go over-time and over-budget. Every project I’m currently paying someone else for hours on isn’t working. They’re all late and I’ve been underwhelmed by the work. On the contrary, the projects that I’ve paid a project fee for have come in on time and exceeded expectations. I like exceeding my clients’ expectations, too.

Four Mistakes That Will Blow Your Next Estimate:

  1. First Mistake: Calculate how long it will take you to do what the client asked for. Wrong. You made your first mistake and estimated what the client asked for, not what the client actually wanted. The two are always different and the client will always want twice as much for half the price.
  2. Second mistake: You didn’t take the client’s delays into consideration. Add a two week delay on the project because their IT department won’t get you the access you need. I always try to tell clients, if you get “A” to me by a specific date, then I can deliver. If you don’t, I can not commit to any date. The Gantt chart doesn’t magically shift, I have other clients and jobs already scheduled.
  3. Third mistake: You allowed the client to pressure you into an earlier delivery. You didn’t include error-handling and testing. The client wanted to cut the costs so they told you to just get it done. Wrong answer! If the client isn’t paying for error-handling and testing, then rest-assured you’re going to be spending long hours on bugs and maintenance fixes after you go live. Charge for it either way – you’re going to do the work now or later.
  4. Fourth mistake: Expectations change along the way, schedules get messed up, priorities get shifted, problems arise that you didn’t expect, people turn over…. You’re always going to be a lot later than you expected. Don’t agree to a shortened timeline under pressure from a client. If you had stuck to your original expectations, you probably would have made them!

More recently, we started up a contract with a company where we agreed upon a down payment for a project and then an ongoing monthly rate for upgrades and maintenance. We sat down and discussed the goals and what their priorities were – and never even discussed the user interface, design, or any other piece. We set a rough ‘go live’ date that was aggressive, but Pat fully understood that the project might be ahead on some features than others. We nailed the launch and are already making headway on a list of enhancements. More importantly, we’re both happy.

I don’t blow too many estimates but it still happens occasionally. In fact, I’m getting ready to give back a recent contract because, after working on a few projects with the client, I know that even though the client agreed to some vague goals, they’re not going to be happy unless they get ten times what the contract is worth. I only wish I could spot these folks earlier. They need to rent their resources by the hour… getting into a project-based estimate with them is a killer.

I’m starting to figure out what’s in common with the successful projects we’ve delivered or are delivering on. Much of it I actually learned through Sales training with the assistance of my coach, Matt Nettleton. I’ve also figured out that most of the success of my projects has started before I ever even signed the client!

How to Nail an Estimate:

  1. Figure out when the client expects it. It’s their expectations that are most important. You might find that you have a year to complete the work. Why estimate 2 weeks if they’re happy with 2 months? You can still complete the job in 2 weeks and exceed all expectations!
  2. Figure out what it’s worth to the client. If you can’t find out what it’s worth, then find out what the budget is. Can you complete the project and exceed expectations based on that budget? Then do it. If you can’t, then give it up.
  3. Figure out what the goal of the project is. Everything outside the goal is extraneous and can be worked out later. Work to set the goal and complete that goal. If the goal is to get a blog up and running, then get the blog up and running. If it’s to build an integration that sends email, then get it to send email. If it’s to lower the cost of acquisition, get the cost down. If it’s to develop a report, get the report up and running. Pretty comes later and fine-tuning can come at a huge cost with an aggressive timeline. Work on what’s most important.
  4. Work backwards from your level of excellence. Most of my clients don’t use me for menial tasks, they get their money’s worth by hitting me up for the big stuff and they fill in to complete the easy work. I love those clients and I aim to both exceed their expectations and provide them more value than they are paying for. By the end of our projects, we’re often below budget or exceeding goals, and we’re ahead on schedules. They provide me with enough room to exceed their expectations… it’s that simple.

I still get pressured to reduce my rates and finish earlier, I think every manager thinks that’s what their goal is when working with contractors. It’s too bad that they’re that short-sighted. I simply let clients know that shorter timelines and less money has a direct impact on the quality of the work they’ve hired me for. The great thing about paying a great contractor what he’s worth is that he’ll deliver… and you can expect that he’ll deliver. When you continue to undercut or beat your contractors to death, don’t be surprised when none of them ever work out. 🙂

I also get outbid all the time. The last time it happened, the company opted for a short-term solution that they are going to have to redevelop with each client. My pricing was about 1.5 times the cost, but I was going to build it so they could re-use the application with each of their clients. The CEO actually chuckled at me when he told me how much he “saved” with the other contractor (a contractor I suggested). Four clients from now, he’ll have paid over 3 times the implementation costs. Dummy.

I smiled, and moved on to my next happier, more successful, and more profitable client.

3 Comments

  1. 1

    Well said Doug. I still struggle with this too. When asked when I can have a web site completed, I’ve learned to respond, “that depends on how responsive you are to everything I ask for.”

  2. 2

    I appreciate your candor, Doug. I would add one other best practice — keep you client informed and be transparent. All of this presumes some level of trust.

Leave a Reply