تجنب أخذ مطوريك كرهائن

hostage100107بدأت في نهاية هذا الأسبوع محادثة مع فنانة محلية كانت تساعد رئيسها في إدارة اثنين من تطبيقات الويب التي يمتلكها رئيسها.

أخذت المحادثة منعطفًا واستمر بعض التنفيس عن دفع رسوم التطوير الأسبوعية دون رؤية أي تقدم مع المطور الذي كانوا يعملون معه. الآن يريد المطور أن يفرض عليهم رسومًا مقطوعة أخرى لإكمال المشروع بالإضافة إلى رسوم صيانة أسبوعية لتغطية الطلبات الأخرى. تزداد الأمور سوءا.

قام المطور بنقل أسماء النطاقات حتى يتمكن من إدارتها. يستضيف المطور أيضًا التطبيق على حساب الاستضافة الخاص به. باختصار ، المطور يحتجزهم الآن كرهائن.

لحسن الحظ ، طلبت المرأة التي أعمل معها حق الوصول الإداري في الماضي لتعديل بعض ملفات القوالب الخاصة بالموقع. كان بإمكان المطور منحها وصولاً محدودًا لكنه لم يفعل. قام (كسول) بتزويدها بتسجيل الدخول الإداري إلى الموقع. الليلة استخدمت هذا الوصول لعمل نسخة احتياطية من جميع التعليمات البرمجية الخاصة بالموقع. لقد اكتشفت أيضًا برنامج الإدارة الذي كان يستخدمه وشق طريقي إلى إدارة قاعدة البيانات حيث تمكنت من تصدير كل من بيانات التطبيقات وهياكل الجداول. يا للعجب.

كان المالك يخطط لنقل المواقع إلى أسماء نطاقات جديدة بمجرد اكتمال التطوير. هذا ضخم لأنه يعني أن النطاقات الحالية قد تنتهي صلاحيتها في حالة وجود فصل غاضب بين المطور والشركة. لقد رأيت هذا يحدث من قبل.

بعض النصائح إذا كنت ستحصل على فريق تطوير خارجي:

  1. تسجيل النطاقات

    سجل أسماء المجالات الخاصة بك في اسم شركتك. ليس بالأمر السيء أن يكون لديك مطور برامج كجهة اتصال فنية في الحساب ، ولكن أبدا نقل ملكية المجال لأي شخص خارج شركتك.

  2. استضافة تطبيقك أو موقعك

    إنه لأمر رائع أن يكون لدى المطور الخاص بك شركة استضافة ويمكنه استضافة موقعك نيابة عنك ، لكن لا تفعل ذلك. بدلاً من ذلك ، اطلب توصياته حول مكان استضافة التطبيق. صحيح أن المطورين يتعرفون على برامج الإدارة والإصدارات وموقع الموارد ويمكن أن يساعد ذلك في إكمال منتجك في وقت أقرب. ومع ذلك ، امتلك حساب الاستضافة وأضف المطور الخاص بك بتسجيل الدخول الخاص به والوصول إليه. بهذه الطريقة ، يمكنك سحب القابس متى احتجت إلى ذلك.

  3. امتلك الرمز

    لا تفترض أنك تملك الكود ، اكتبه كتابة. إذا كنت لا تريد أن يستخدم المطور الخاص بك الحلول التي دفعت له / لها لتطويرها في مكان آخر ، يجب أن تقرر ذلك في وقت العقد. لقد طورت حلولًا بهذه الطريقة ولكني قمت أيضًا بتطويرها حيث أحتفظ بحقوق الكود. في الحالة الأخيرة ، تفاوضت على تكلفة التطبيق أقل بحيث كان هناك حافز للشركة لمنحني الحقوق. إذا كنت لا تمانع في استخدام مطور برامجك للكود الخاص بك في مكان آخر ، فلا يجب أن تدفع أعلى قيمة!

  4. احصل على رأي ثان!

    لا يضر مشاعري عندما يخبرني الناس أنهم يأخذون عطاءات أو يتشاورون مع محترفين آخرين. في الواقع ، أوصي به!

خلاصة القول هي أنك تدفع مقابل موهبة المطور لديك ولكن يجب أن تحتفظ بالسيطرة والملكية على الفكرة. إنه لك. أنت من استثمر فيها ، أنت الذي خاطرت بعملك وربحيتك من أجله ... وأنت من يجب أن تحتفظ به. يمكن استبدال المطورين وهذا لا ينبغي أن يعرض تطبيقك أو ما هو أسوأ - عملك في خطر.

6 تعليقات

  1. 1

    أنا مطور تطبيقات ويب وأنا أتفق مع معظم نقاطك (ربما جميعها) ولكني أود توضيحًا بشأن # 3.

    النسخ بالجملة لموقع أو تطبيق يتم بيعه إلى شركة أخرى (أو أسوأ من ذلك منافس) هو أمر غير أخلاقي ويجب دائمًا النص عليه على أنه غير مقبول في عقدك. ومع ذلك ، فقد قمت بتطوير حلول مبتكرة للمشاكل الشائعة أثناء العمل في مشروع العميل الذي لا علاقة له بعملاته التجارية الخاصة ولا يمثل جزءًا كبيرًا من الحل الشامل.

    على سبيل المثال:
    أراد العميل مستوى الصفحة والتحكم الميداني المرتبط بأدوار المستخدم. تعمل وظيفة "خارج الصندوق" لـ ASP.Net على أذونات على مستوى المجلد. لذلك قمت بتوسيع الأذونات الأصلية لـ .Net وقدمت الحل كجزء من تطبيق ويب شامل.

    أعتقد أنه يحق لهم الحصول على قاعدة التعليمات البرمجية بالكامل (كما هو منصوص عليه في العقد) ولكني أشعر أنه من المبرر استخدام نفس المنهجية وقطع الكود لإنجاز هذا الامتداد في المشاريع المستقبلية.

    تجعد آخر:
    لقد فعلت ذلك أثناء قيام شركة استشارية بتربيتي. هل يحق للشركة الاستشارية في رأيك الرجوع ونسخ هذا الحل وتسويقه على أنه حل خاص بهم؟

    • 2

      ليس صحيحا،

      أعتقد أننا نتفق. وجهة نظري في هذا هي التأكد من أن لديك الرمز ويمكنك الخروج من الباب به. إذا كان المطور الخاص بك يقوم بتجميع التعليمات البرمجية نيابة عنك ودفعها إلى موقعك - ​​فليس لديك الرمز. لقد رأيت هذا يحدث مع كل شيء من الرسومات ، فلاش ، .NET ، جافا ... أي شيء يتطلب ملف مصدر ويتم إخراجها.

      دوغ

  2. 3

    أرى من أين أتيت وعلى الرغم من أنني لا أتفق مع كل شيء بنسبة 100٪ (لدي محاذير) ، يجب على الشركات دائمًا وضع ذلك في الاعتبار.

    1. إطلاقا. لا أستطيع أن أؤكد هذا بما فيه الكفاية. لقد عملت في شركة صغيرة فعلت ذلك وشعرت بالذنب الشديد بسبب التورط. أنا سعيد للغاية لأنني تمكنت من الخروج من هناك. يجب أن يحتفظ العملاء تمامًا بالسيطرة على مجالاتهم. إذا كان لديهم شخص ما يتمتع بالذكاء الكافي ، فلا تمنح المطور حق الوصول إلى هذا. إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، فتأكد من أن المطور لديه طريقة لتغيير المعلومات / نقل النطاق عبر واجهة موزع من نوع ما في أقل تقدير.

    2. أنا أتفق مع هذا جزئيًا ولكن بعد ذلك يعتمد الأمر على الموقف. إذا كنت تنشر تطبيق PHP بسيطًا وتحتاج إلى استضافة منخفضة التكلفة ، فبكل الوسائل ، احصل على حساب LunarPages أو DreamHost أو أي شيء وقم بتفريغه هناك. امنح المطور حق الوصول. ومع ذلك ، فإن الاستضافة المشتركة منخفضة التكلفة لها بالتأكيد عيوبها ... خاصة بالنسبة للأشياء الأكبر. ولكن إذا كنت كبيرًا بما يكفي للقلق بشأن ذلك ، فيجب أن يكون لديك شخص تقني في فريق العمل يمكنه التعامل معه. من الواضح أن الكثير منها يتعلق بالثقة. من المؤكد أن الجحيم قد وضع شيئًا ما في العقد إذا كان بإمكانك بشأن هذا النوع من الأشياء (القيود وما إلى ذلك). تعد استضافة الجهات الخارجية أمرًا رائعًا إذا لم يكن المطور بحاجة إلى فعل أي شيء خيالي. أعترف أنني ممزقة لأنه في الحقيقة شيء ظرفية. كما يعتمد أيضًا على حجم الموقع ومجموعة التقنيات المستخدمة. إذا كان الأمر سيكون كبيرًا ، ففكر في تعيين شخص من بين الموظفين. ليس دائمًا خيارًا ، ولكنه أكثر أمانًا للأشياء الكبيرة.

    3. هذا أيضًا شيء فعلته شركتي السابقة. يمكنك المغادرة ، سيعطونك HTML والصور وما إلى ذلك…. لكن لا يوجد رمز. كان الرمز خدمة مؤجرة بشكل أساسي. ومع ذلك ، هناك امتلاك وامتلاك. لقد قمت دائمًا ببيع غير حصري. في الأساس ، أحتاج إلى أن أكون قادرًا على إعادة استخدام مكوناتي. ليس لدي أي مشكلة مع العميل الذي يمتلكه ، ويفعل ما يريده به ويجعل شخصًا آخر يعمل عليه ... لكنني لن أرهن نفسي وأضطر إلى إعادة اختراع العجلة في كل مرة.

    4. دائما. دائما. دائما.

  3. 4

    مشاركة لطيفة ... أحسنت رغم أنني لا أتفق مع عنصر واحد (رقم 2):

    "إنه لأمر رائع أن يكون لدى المطور لديك شركة استضافة ويمكنه استضافة موقعك من أجلك ، ولكن لا تفعل ذلك."

    على الرغم من أنني أفهم المنطق الكامن وراء ذلك ، إلا أنه قد يؤدي إلى نتائج عكسية في بعض الحالات أن تطلب استضافة مشروعك في مكان آخر. إذا كانت الشركة التي تقوم بتطوير موقعك أو تطبيقك لديها نظام استضافة يفضلون استخدامه ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون استخدامه أكثر كفاءة وإنتاجية.

    بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من وجهة نظر فلسفية ، إذا رفضت استخدام منصة الاستضافة الخاصة بالمطور الخاص بك لأنك لا تريد أن تكون "رهينة" ، فهذا يضع نغمة من عدم الثقة من البداية. إذا كنت لا تثق حقًا بمطورك بما يكفي لاستضافته ، فهل تريد حقًا العمل معهم في المقام الأول؟

    أعلم أن العديد من قصص الرعب موجودة حول هذا النوع من المواقف ، لكن بشكل عام أوصي بالتركيز على إيجاد مطور تثق به. يمكنك الاستفادة من استضافة المطور الخاص بك مع الاستمرار في حماية نفسك من خلال طلب الوصول الإداري وعمل النسخ الاحتياطية الخاصة بك.

    مرة أخرى ، منشور جيد ومعلومات مفيدة للغاية.

    شكر!
    مايكل رينولدز

    • 5

      مرحبا مايكل،

      قد يبدو الأمر وكأنه مشكلة ثقة لكنني لا أعتقد أنها كذلك - إنها حقًا مسألة تحكم ومسؤولية. إذا كنت ستستثمر مبلغًا كبيرًا في تطوير موقع الويب الخاص بك ، فيجب أن تكون متأكدًا من أنه يمكنك التحكم في بيئته.

      تحدث الأشياء في الأعمال التي تكسر العلاقات ولا يجب أن تكون سلبية. ربما يحصل المطور / شركتك على عميل كبير جدًا ولا يمكنه توفير الوقت لك. ربما يغيرون أهداف العمل. في بعض الأحيان يمكن أن تواجه شركة الاستضافة الخاصة بهم مشاكل.

      أنا أدعو إلى أن تتحكم في استضافتك وتتحمل المسؤولية عنها حتى تتمكن من الاعتماد على المطور الخاص بك لما هو رائع فيه - التطوير!

      أنا أقدر الرد ، مايكل.

  4. 6

    أنا أيضًا مطور تطبيقات ويب ، وأعتقد أنك ضربت المسمار على رأسك. بعض الأفكار:

    أعتقد أن الجميع سيوافقون (وقد استند إلى التعليقات أدناه) # 1 هو أمر مطلق. ابدا ابدا افعلها أبدا. تحت أي ظرف من الظروف.

    لدي رأي مختلف عن بعض المطورين الآخرين: نحن نرفض استضافة المنتج النهائي لعملائنا (بالطبع ، نحن نستضيف خادم اختبار للعملاء لاختبار قيادة المنتج أثناء التطوير). يسعدنا مساعدة العملاء في الإعداد لاستضافته بأنفسهم أو العثور على مزود استضافة. نحن ببساطة لا نريد الدخول في مجال الاستضافة. إذا كان هذا يعني إبعاد العمل ، فليكن. هناك الكثير من شركات الاستضافة أو شركات البنية التحتية الرائعة التي يمكنها تقديم هذه الخدمة بسعر أرخص بكثير. نحن نشجع إمكانية نقل عملنا ، وسنفعل كل ما في وسعنا للمساعدة في استضافته ، حتى لو قام العميل بتبديل مقدمي خدمات الاستضافة بعد سنوات.

    بالنسبة إلى رقم 3 ، يحصل عملاؤنا على جميع الكود المصدري للمنتج النهائي مع تحذير واحد: بالنسبة إلى منتجات الجهات الخارجية المستخدمة في الحل (مثل عناصر التحكم في الويب من Telerik أو Component One) ، يمكننا إعطاء العميل ملف dll المترجم لـ تحكم الطرف الثالث (على سبيل المثال شبكة). تمنعنا اتفاقيات الترخيص الخاصة بنا مع تلك الشركات الخارجية (التي نقدمها للعميل) من إعادة توزيع الكود المصدري لهذا النوع من الضوابط ، لأنها ملكية فكرية للأطراف الثالثة ، وليست ملكنا. يوفر استخدام هذه الأنواع من المنتجات وقت التطوير للعميل وهو أرخص بكثير من إنشاء نفس الوظيفة من البداية. نحن صريحون بشأن هذه السياسة قبل القيام بأي عمل. بالطبع ، إذا كان العميل يرغب في الدفع مقابل تطوير التحكم المخصص (بدلاً من استخدام المنتج الذي تم إنشاؤه مسبقًا من جهة خارجية) ، فإننا نوفر الكود المصدري لعنصر التحكم المخصص هذا جنبًا إلى جنب مع كل شيء آخر.

    عندما يتعلق الأمر بإعادة استخدام الكود ، فنحن صريحون بشأن حقيقة أننا قد نعيد استخدام أجزاء من الكود ما لم يتم تطويره صراحةً لاستخدام العميل (على سبيل المثال لعملية تجارية احتكارية) قبل إنجاز أي عمل. إذا كان العميل يريد تطوير كود خاص بالطبع ، فهذا متاح له.

    كما قال آخرون ، ينصح دائمًا بالرقم 4. دائما!

    التحيات،
    تيم يونغ

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing, Technology

Avoid getting taken Hostage by your Developers

This weekend I started up a conversation with a local artist who has been assisting her boss with the management of a couple of web applications her boss owns.

The conversation took a turn and some venting went on about paying weekly development fees without seeing any progress with the developer they’ve been working with. Now the developer wants to charge them another lump sum fee to complete the project as well as a weekly maintenance fee to cover other requests. It gets worse.

The developer transferred the domain names so he could manage them. The developer also hosts the application on his hosting account. In short, the developer is now holding them hostage.

Thankfully, the woman I’m working with demanded administrative access in the past to edit some of the template files for the site. The developer could have provided her limited access but he didn’t. He (lazily) provided her with the administrative login to the site. Tonight I used that access to backup all of the code for the site. I also figured out what management software he was using and made my way to the database administration where I was able to export both applications’ data and table structures. Whew.

The owner was planning on moving the sites to new domain names once development was completed. That’s huge because it means the current domains could expire in the event that there’s an angry separation between the developer and the company. I’ve seen this happen before.

Some tips if you’re going to get an outsourced development team:

  1. Domain Registration

    Register your domain names in your company’s name. It’s not bad to have your developer as a Technical Contact on the account, but never transfer ownership of the domain to anyone outside your company.

  2. Hosting your Application or Site

    It’s great that your developer might have a hosting company and can host your site for you, but don’t do it. Instead, ask his recommendations for where to host the application. It is true that developers get acquainted with the management software, versions, and location of resources and that can help your product be completed sooner. That said, though, own the hosting account and add your developer with his own login and access. This way, you can pull the plug whenever you need to.

  3. Own the Code

    Don’t assume that you own the code, put it in writing. If you don’t want your developer using the solutions you paid him/her to develop elsewhere, you must decide that at the time of the contract. I’ve developed solutions this way but I’ve also developed them where I retain rights to the code. In the latter case, I negotiated the cost of the application lower so that there was an incentive to the company to give me rights. If you don’t mind your developer using your code elsewhere, then you shouldn’t be paying top dollar!

  4. Get a second opinion!

    It doesn’t hurt my feelings when folks tell me they’re taking bids or consulting with other professionals. In fact, I recommend it!

The bottom line is that you’re paying for your developer’s talent but you must retain control and ownership over the idea. It’s yours. It was you who invested in it, you who risked your business and profitability for it… and it’s you who should keep it. Developers can be replaced and that should never put your application, or worse – your business, at risk.

6 Comments

  1. 1

    I’m a web app developer and I agree with most of your points (perhaps all) but I’d like a clarification on #3.

    Wholesale duplication of a site or application sold to another company (or worse a competitor) is unethical and should always be stipulated as not acceptable in your contract. However, I have developed innovative solutions to common problems while working on a client’s project that has nothing to do with their particular biz nor does it represent a significant portion of the overall solution.

    Example:
    Client wanted page level and field level control tied to user roles. The “out of the box” functionality for ASP.Net does folder level permissions. So I extended the native permissions for .Net and delivered the solution as part of an overall web appplication.

    I believe that they are entitled to the entire codebase (as stipulated in the contract) but I feel justified in using the same methodology and chunks of code to accomplish this extension on future projects.

    Another wrinkle:
    I did this while being farmed out by a consulting company. Would the consulting company have the right in your opinion to go back and copy that solution, marketing it as their own?

    • 2

      Notreally,

      I think we agree. My point in this is to ensure that you have the code and can walk out the door with it. If your developer is compiling code for you and pushing it out to your site – you don’t have the code. I’ve seen this happen with everything from graphics, Flash, .NET, Java… anything that requires a source file and is outputted.

      Doug

  2. 3

    I see where you’re coming from and while I don’t agree with everything 100% (I have caveats), companies should always keep this in mind.

    1. ABSOLUTELY. Can’t stress this enough. I’ve worked for a small company that did this and I felt crushing guilt over being involved. I’m so glad I was able to get out of there. Customers should absolutely retain control of their domains. If they have someone savvy enough, don’t give the developer access to this. If not, make sure the developer has a way for you to change info/transfer the domain via a reseller interface of some kind in the very least.

    2. I’d partly agree with this but then it depends on the situation. If you’re deploying a simple PHP app and need low cost hosting, by all means, get a LunarPages or DreamHost account or something and dump it there. Give the developer access. However, low-cost shared hosting certainly has it’s drawbacks… especially for bigger things. But if you’re big enough to be worrying about that you should have someone technical on staff that can deal with it. A lot of it is obviously about trust. Sure as hell put something in a contract if you can about this kind of thing (restrictions and such). Third party hosting is great if the developer doesn’t need to do anything fancy. I admit I’m torn because it’s really a situational thing. It also depends on the size of the site, the array of technologies used. If it’s gonna be big, considering hiring a person on staff. Not always an option, but safer for big stuff.

    3. This is also something my former company did. You could leave, they would give you the HTML, images etc…. but no code. The code was a leased service basically. That being said, there’s owning and owning. I’ve always done a non-exclusive sale. Basically, I need to be able to reuse my components. I have no issue with the client owning it, doing what they want with it and having someone else work on it down the line… but I ain’t gonna mortgage myself and have to reinvent the wheel every time.

    4. Always. Always. Always.

  3. 4

    Nice post… well done although I disagree with one item (#2):

    “It?s great that your developer might have a hosting company and can host your site for you, but don?t do it.”

    Though I understand the logic behind this, it can be counter-productive in some cases to mandate that your project be hosted somewhere else. If the company developing your site or app has a hosting platform that they prefer to use, chances are it will be more efficient and productive for them to use it.

    Additionally, from a philosophical standpoint, if you refuse to utilize your developer’s hosting platform because you don’t want to be “held hostage”, then this sets a tone of distrust from the start. If you really don’t trust your developer enough to host with them, then do you really want to be working with them in the first place?

    I know that many horror stories do exist about this sort of situation, but in general I would recommend that you focus on finding a developer that you trust. You can utilize your developer’s hosting and still protect yourself by requesting administrative access and making your own backups.

    Again, good post and very useful information.

    Thanks!
    Michael Reynolds

    • 5

      Hi Michael,

      It may sound like a trust issue but I don’t think it is – it’s really a control and responsibility issue. If you’re going to invest a significant amount in your web site development, then you must be sure that you can control its environment.

      Things happen in business that break relationships and they need not be negative. Perhaps your developer/firm gets a very large client and can’t afford you the time. Perhaps they shift business objectives. Sometimes their hosting company can have issues.

      I’m advocating that you control and be responsible of your hosting so you can depend on your developer for what he’s great at – developing!

      I appreciate the push-back, Michael.

  4. 6

    I’m also a web app developer, and I think you’ve hit the nail on the head. Some thoughts:

    I think most everyone would agree (and has based on the comments below) #1 is a absolute. Never, ever do it. Ever. Under any circumstance.

    I have a different take on #2 than perhaps some of my fellow developers: we refuse to host the final product for our customers (of course, we host a testing server for clients to test drive the product during development). We’re happy to help clients get set up to host it themselves or find a hosting provider. We simply don’t want to get in the business of hosting. If that means turning work away, so be it. There are lots of great hosting companies or infrastructure firms out there than can provide this service at a much cheaper price. We encourage the portability of our work, and will do whatever we can to assist getting it hosted, even if the client switches hosting providers years down the road.

    For #3, our clients get all the source code of the final product with one caveat: For third party products that are used in the solution (such as web controls from Telerik or Component One), we can give the client the compiled dll for the third party control (say a grid). Our licensing agreements with those third party companies (which we provide to the client) prohibit us from redistributing the source code for those type of controls, because it is the third parties’ intellectual property, not ours. The use of these types of products saves development time for the client and is much cheaper than building the same functionality from scratch. We are upfront about this policy before any work is done. Of course, if the client wishes to pay for custom control development (instead of using the prebuilt product from the third party) we provide the source code for that custom control along with everything else.

    When it comes to code reuse, we are upfront about the fact that we may reuse portions of the code unless it was expressly developed exclusively for the client’s use (say for a proprietary business process) before any work is done. If the client wants to have exclusive code developed of course, that is available to them.

    As others have said, #4 is always recommended. Always!

    Regards,
    Tim Young

Leave a Reply